Year 8 are learning about contrasts in music and got their heads around a full score of Schubert’s ‘Unfinished’ Symphony (well, part of it anyway). For those of you who may be wondering why it is called ‘unfinished’, the work has only two movements rather than the usual four but musicologists are still debating as to why Schubert appeared to abandon it, just leaving a few sketches for the third movement. After identifying features of the melody, accompaniment, dynamics, instrumentation and texture, the students created their own graphic representations of the score. Here are some examples of their work:




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s